• New TOR Mirror: suicidffbey666ur5gspccbcw2zc7yoat34wbybqa3boei6bysflbvqd.onion

• Hey Guest,

If you want to donate, we have a thread with updated donation options here at this link: About Donations

N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
I really don't have an answer. But I can fully understand the dilemma they are in (at least some of them). There is the conflict not wanting to hurt others while having the urges to do it while being scared to be locked away if you open up to someone else. However, this conflict might not apply to all of them. I am no expert but I think people with sociopathic disorders have more empathy and deal more with a guilty conscience compared to psycohpaths. The latter ones are often better integrated into society.

I am in the psychiatry recently. And there are gardens full of prisoners. I mean people in the forensic psychiatry. Personally, I think they should get offered the option of assisted suicide.

I more and more lose faith in a free will. I think this fate is not pleasant at all. I ask myself whether my bullies were psychopaths. At least about some of them I would not be surprised at all. I would not forgive them though. I don't know. Maybe due to my personal involvement with them.

B

biasedregret

Feb 23, 2024
There are some studies on ASPD that show supportive relationships and societal involvement (incarceration, usually - although this leaves a lot to be desired, especially in the US) have moderating effects on the disorder. That being said, it's largely impossible to meaningfully alter someone's personality. I'd say that we're far from a point where we understand the brain well enough to significantly alter its functioning with enough finesse to move someone from an antisocial to a prosocial mindset.