• If you haven't yet, we highly encourage you to check out our Recovery Resources thread!
  • New TOR Mirror: suicidffbey666ur5gspccbcw2zc7yoat34wbybqa3boei6bysflbvqd.onion

• Hey Guest,

If you want to donate, we have a thread with updated donation options here at this link: About Donations

Broken Buzz

Broken Buzz

Space Ranger
Apr 30, 2021
I had an idea recently, to find someone who is interested in learning my craft and take them under my wing; I feel as though it would help to keep me on track for recovery and give me a good reason to fight any blips along the way. I think I've got a lot to offer, I mean, I give the occasional lecture already and those seem to go down well, and I'm just a natural teacher. So bringing someone under my wing, involving them in my research and giving them the skills to pursue their own, building various laboratory equipment together and doing experiments.

The idea is that eventually, they'll be more of a collaborator and less reliant on me to pursue the field, although we'll continue to share knowledge and resources and hopefully they'll be able to take someone under their wing too in the future. On paper, it sounds good but I have this horrible sense of imposter syndrome and flashbacks to clueless narcissists I've met who arrogantly proclaim to know everything, I don't want to be that guy...

I close my eyes and imagine myself putting out an ad, looking for someone curious and passionate who wants to learn, but my well-intentioned visions are plagued with the anticipated negative reactions such as: "what an asshole", "who would want to work with him?". I'm about ninety per cent certain that my thought process is because of how my abusive ex conditioned me to hate myself, to believe that everyone else will hate me and see me as a loser.

But there's that small part of me that still thinks I'm being blinded by the prospect of recovery and that it's a narcissistic, dickish idea that I should burn and bury. I hate PTSD.

T

timf