• New TOR Mirror: suicidffbey666ur5gspccbcw2zc7yoat34wbybqa3boei6bysflbvqd.onion

• Hey Guest,

If you want to donate, we have a thread with updated donation options here at this link: About Donations

N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
I think this is an interesting topic for many reasons. I am no expert in that but I tried to read some literature on it.
There is the underlying question does truth exist? Are there objectively true facts? My answer is yes. I reject postmodernism inter alia because it questions the existence of an objective truth which can be found out. I wanted to read more about postmodernism and the concept of truth but I had no time for that. I rather focussed instead on the journalism question.

I think many here have expressed their antipathy for journalism due to alleged fake news, biased reporting etc. I read the newspaper quite often. I also follow some other media outlets. And concerning the diversity of the German-speaking press I am glad about the media industry. Probably it has some sort of bias in favor of the left. On the other hand the yellow press is often rather in favor of conservatives but more generally very populistic. I am glad we have such a diverse media landscape compared to other countries. There are also some outlets which I follow from other countries like the US. I am glad the yellow press is in my country not as strong as for example in the UK or Austria. I think yellow press can be very toxic.

I think the TV broadcast channels in the US suck ass. The newpapers seem to be better comparatively to the channels. Many US outlets are dependent on powerful lobby groups, interests of the rich and there is a concentration of companies which own the outlets This is also the case in my country. I think in my country especially smaller or regional outlets struggle. For the US market I have watched some analysis of Noam Chomsky. But I am no expert.