StarMaiden

StarMaiden

when it's cold I'd like to die
Mar 3, 2023
I am a 26 year old unemployed autistic female. I think I appear more "high functioning" than I am so people aren't understanding at all. My parents died when I was young so I ended up being raised by my Grandparents, then my Grandpa died when I was 15 so it was just me and Grandma. Now my Grandma is 90 and she's borderline bedridden and needs a lot of attention and home care. I have been extremely depressed for as long as I can remember. I am a shut-in and have social anxiety maybe even some level of agoraphobia. I rarely leave the house and I can barely take care of myself most days or even get out of bed so I'm not very good at taking care of my Grandma. Our relationship has never been very good as she mistreated me a lot during my preteen and teen years, due to not understanding my autism, she often acted like she hated me and said terrible things. It's hard to even muster up the motivation to care for someone I don't have a good relationship with but I swear I do everything I can even if it's just little things like bringing her tea or unloading the dishwasher.

Basically my older cousin moved in some years ago and helps take care of my Grandma but she is also a single mother of a misbehaved 6 year old.
I can't imagine how stressful this must be for her. But I can feel and tell she resents me for not being of more help. (she complains to my grandma and a family friend who have told me about it- one of them called me selfish) I can also just feel it and it weighs on me so much. She just thinks I'm lazy and good for nothing.

I already feel so useless and worthless but I don't know what to do. I feel like I'm already at my limit. I see no future for myself, everything is so bleak and dark. I think about suicide everyday and self harming is how I cope. I've already come up with a plan so I would just need to get supplies.