• If you haven't yet, we highly encourage you to check out our Recovery Resources thread!
  • Hey Guest,

If you want to donate, we have a thread with updated donation options here at this link: About Donations

21Neberg

21Neberg

Enlightened
Dec 17, 2018
Hey everyone,

one of the few things I learned during my stay at the psych ward was to distract myself as much as possible. This helps me because if I start thinking about myself, my future and shit I'll often end up in a negative spiral of thoughts. This is what brings me to self harm or attempting suicide. If I want to get through the day, I have to prevent this from happening.

That's why I now try to distract myself, keep myself busy. I'm not very good at it, but at least I get out of the bed now. Some of the things I try to do is drawing, working out and studying. Perhaps you can think of things that work better for you.

I wanted to share this in hopes of helping someone. Recovery is something I don't think I'll ever succeed in, but I have tried to recover for the past 6 months. I don't think I'll die a natural death - but I hope this tip can help someone recover and live a long life.

Mr2005

Mr2005

Don't shoot the messenger, give me the gun
Sep 25, 2018
I've turned distraction into a fine art. Unfortunately it's also why I'm in this mess. More specifically procrastination so I'd just add not to distract from what you're meant to be doing if you know there's something you could do to make things better. I don't know if there's anyone else who'd be stupid enough to do that though

BeenDoneForSoLong

BeenDoneForSoLong

Can't wait to be another statistic
Feb 6, 2019
Issue I have is when sleepy time comes. How can you distract yourself when it's time to go to sleep?

My internal monologue screams "killyourself" and I can't sleep, because there are no distractions.

If anyone has a coping mechanism for this I'd love to hear it. It's where I struggle most.

M

Morto

Jul 3, 2019