Pluto

Pluto

Meowing to go out
Dec 27, 2020
After some experimentation, I have found that when I access this website via my home internet, it works. But when I use my Vodafone cellular connection, it displays the error message 'Page could not be loaded'. I only looked into it recently when the topic came up on another thread.

At this stage, I am not fully clear on how this works. I recall fiery debate about government censorship some years back, but this is my first time being affected by the so-called web filter. Because some ISPs have more censorship than others, the finer details of this system remain a mystery. But I do feel anxiety at the thought that the government can take away my only source of comfort, and there's no telling when other countries may go down this dubious path.

On 22 May 2009, it was disclosed in the press, citing WikiLeaks, that the Australian Government had added Dr Philip Nitschke's online Peaceful Pill Handbook, which deals with the topic of voluntary euthanasia, to the blocklist maintained by the Australian Communications and Media Authority used to filter web access to citizens of Australia.[38] Euthanasia groups will hold seminars around Australia teaching how to evade the proposed filter using proxy servers and virtual networks. A spokeswoman for Senator Conroy said that euthanasia would not be targeted by the proposed web filter,[39] however Stephen Conroy has previously stated that "while euthanasia remains illegal it will be captured by the RC filter".[40]

• Aww..
Reactions: Manaaja, littlelungs, WhatDoesTheFoxSay? and 7 others
O

OrcWitch

Warlock
Sep 3, 2021
I hope they dont take it away. Its not fair.

Reactions: Manaaja, Circles and Pluto
C

Circles

Visionary
Sep 3, 2018