t0rch

t0rch

too much
Mar 29, 2023
I just started my first serious relationship recently and I don't know how to support my suicidal partner when I feel exhausted myself too.

Just how do I maintain a relationship where myself and my partner both have mental illness? I'm scared that I'll hurt them by… I don't know, just being an awful person I guess. Is it even responsible or valid for me to start a relationship when I now hit rock bottom? I feel responsible for 'fixing' myself first before I commit to any relationships. I'm scared that I'll mess us up.

They make me want to live, but other times, they make me want to die more so than I already do. Not that it's their problem at all! But I don't know, I just feel awful when they feel awful. I don't know.

Any tips would be appreciated!

Sulyya

Sulyya

Synergist
Mar 6, 2023
I have no real relationship experience and don't know how yours is, but if you each understand the other's issues maybe just having someone close by is a help in itself.

I always felt that just having someone who knows you're struggling and you can hug, would be great for both.

Reactions: Bitterman1996 and Lamentice
NumbItAll

NumbItAll

expendable
May 20, 2018
I think it is fine to start a relationship as long as you are open and honest about your issues. Then they can choose whether it's something they want to get involved with. It is good that you are concerned about their feelings (wish more people would do that), but let them have a vote too, you know? :)

Reactions: Lamentice
Josef2000

Josef2000

Forsaken One
Nov 5, 2019
I just started my first serious relationship recently and I don't know how to support my suicidal partner when I feel exhausted myself too.