derpyderpins

derpyderpins

Normie Life Mogs
Sep 19, 2023
I'm a lawyer. I had little-to-no warning and they made me leave immediately. In law, you have to bill hours for the firm to make money, and mine were always on the low side, but it was never asserted to me that this was a major issue. (My bosses talked to me once in the summer about it but it was not disciplinary in nature, just "we'd like to see you get your bonuses, how can we help you get your hours up?")

About a month ago, I had to ask for more work, as I was running out of tasks to complete. Some were added . . . but not really a lot. I took a two-week overseas trip that had been planned for a long time. They had a ton of notice of this, and I told them I'd be working remotely on the trip to keep billing. No objection, no issues. However, I stopped getting new assignments. Then, when I got back to the office from that long trip today, they told me it's my last day, pack my things.

I've never been fired. I never made any major mistakes. They were happy with my work, they just wanted me to put more hours in, which I would have been completely willing to do had I been told it was such a huge issue. There was no warning. There was no, "hey you've got to at least hit X hours," "your hours are too low and must be improved within x time." Nothing like that. These are people who had always been "friendly" to me, but I guess that didn't mean shit. No loyalty in at-will employment.

I'm devastated. I hate myself so much. It's going to be so hard to get another job now with this blemish on my resume. I can't believe they let me spend all that money to go on that trip just to come back jetlagged and get blindsided. It was so cold and heartless. No discussion, just like I was trash to be disposed of.

• Hugs
  • Aww..
Reactions: silentcicada, NumbItAll, Praestat_Mori and 13 others
Celerity

Celerity

shape without form, shade without colour
Jan 24, 2021