P

Paralyzed boy

May 7, 2020
Anyways, TLDR of why I had a mental breakdown; I suffered a work place accident and severely damaged my shoulder; my parents didn't believe me so I literally went to work, did house chores using only my left arm the pain became so exacerbated i couldn't even move my fingers which led to a 3-4 month period of having to beg to be spoonfed, showered and taken care of by my parents. The nerves surrounding my shoulder and neck have been so damaged I even have trouble keeping my neck up and breathing day to day, and may permanently keep me away from working not just my original job but any job.

Cops show up and I'm taken away
I was taken to a psych-ward after my sister called the cops on me for having a mental breakdown in front of my parents (which obviously can't be thoroughly explained in this post alone). Keep in mind it is ironic because I am a licensed social worker, (but if a doctor can get sick, why can't a social worker have battles with mental illness). Anyways, as the cops arrived I sat quietly on the bench waiting for them and explained to them my situation (I was injuried but my parents didn't believe me, even made me feel guilty for being injured and pushed me to work and do house chores till the pain in my shoulders was so strong I couldn't even move my fingers). My parents think if I get hospitalized for mental illness my career as a social worker is over and I can never practice social work again (False btw). Cops were generally understanding of me, handcuffed me but while dropping me off at the hospital offered to buy me anything I wanted from the cafeteria.

Keep in mind this is my first time being placed in a psych-ward, any having read so much on SS I was like...damn, alot of the stuff on this forum resonates with me so much.

First night and Overall stay