• If you haven't yet, we highly encourage you to check out our Recovery Resources thread!
  • Hey Guest,

If you want to donate, we have a thread with updated donation options here at this link: About Donations

N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
I asked me that question. I recently bought a new playstation 5 and it felt great. However the happiness was very different to the feelings I feel when I read a good book, have positive social interactions or when I follow politics.

I found different answers to my question. I am only a layman I will give you some answers I found online and add my unqualified bullshit as usual.

The name the following 7 types: joy, excitement, gratitude, pride, optimism, contentment and love

I give some quotes:

Joy
"The feeling of joy comes from losing yourself in the present moment and appreciating what you have. It's fleeting in that it can sneak up on you and sometimes can disappear if you try to analyze it too much. It can also be found in many things if you have the right attitude and perspective, so it's a relatively accessible form of happiness to seek."

Excitement
"Though it can last longer than joy, this emotion is still somewhat fleeting—it dissipates rather quickly and can turn into ennui. However, it can be a motivating factor. Excitement about a new job, for example, can motivate you to work harder, and excitement about a new relationship can motivate you to put more effort into working through difficulties."

Gratitude
"Gratitude can disappear if you don't actively focus on it, but it's also an important form of happiness. Those who feel gratitude on a regular basis tend to be happier and healthier than those who are less prone to these feelings, according to research."

Pride