• If you haven't yet, we highly encourage you to check out our Recovery Resources thread!
  • New TOR Mirror: suicidffbey666ur5gspccbcw2zc7yoat34wbybqa3boei6bysflbvqd.onion

• Hey Guest,

If you want to donate, we have a thread with updated donation options here at this link: About Donations

ForgottenAgain

ForgottenAgain

On the rollercoaster of sadness
Oct 17, 2023
I'm back at work and today we were talking about AI, potentially using it or at least investigating it for work.

I started spiralling.

I've consistently gotten psychotic-like episodes with machines, feeling controlled by them, that they are sucking my life, that I am working for them. The CEO used phrases like "AI is fallible as it hallucinates". I started thinking he was talking about me, that I'm the crazy one because I'm a programmer now afraid of machines.

I'm afraid of writing code, I feel so tense, slight panic, hands fidgeting, crying. This is my job, it's how I make money, I write code. I'm so confused...I feel sad and embarrassed, feels like I'm a stupid person when I've worked so hard to be smart and good at my job.

I don't know what I have, I don't know if it is psychosis, am I just imagining everything? Am I doing this to myself? I've always liked working with computers but these past 5 months this panic just developed and I start believing things that no one else understands. I know it makes no sense but at the moment I feel like the machines are evil, they want to control me, they want to do something and I can't trust them. Now this with AI, it's too close to what I'm already feeling. I don't want it to read my mind, I don't want anything bad to happen, I just wanted to do my job!

Iamtired

Iamtired

Experienced
Sep 30, 2023
Wow. I think this is some kind of withdrawal related symptom if you want me to take a guess. I started having severe paranoia off the sertraline and we mentioned how you CT'd it.

ForgottenAgain

ForgottenAgain

Oct 17, 2023