N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
You see VICE goes bankrupt, the BBC is under pressure can you see a similarity between both? I might be mentally unstable but even I know the reporting about this forum does not have a correlation even more no causation to the demise of media companies. I think the NYT is flourishing and personally if I were American I would probably watch a lot of PBS. However the last remark is pure speculation I don't know PBS enough maybe they are too centristic. In case that Trump gets elected the revenue of the media would go through the roof anyway.

I am subscriber of two outlets. I am a news addict and waste dozens of hours listening to articles. I am no expert on international news outlets but from what I heard I would never subscribe to VICE. Some of my concerns about VICE are shown in the reporting about this forum - however in this instance I am heavily biased so I will talk about my problems with the reporting style of VICE in general.

The reporting style of VICE is known as gonzo-style meaning that it involves the reporter as a participant in the story rather than an objective observer. They use very often informal language in order to be "trendy" and attractive for a young audicence. I have a huge problem with that. I perceive their attempt to gain popularity of the younger generation as needy, desperate and embarrassing. Cringe as the young people would say nowadays.

Moreover I think they suffer from audience capture. The following sums it up: Audience capture is a self-reinforcing feedback loop that involves telling one's audience what they want to hear and getting rewarded for it. VICE is by far not the only outlet that is influenced by that. I follow independent media and due to the fact they finance themselves on a grass-root level they are affected by it a lot.