AtMostOkay

AtMostOkay

Screw your courage to the sticking place.
Jun 29, 2021
I'd like to speak to others who were indoctrinated as children into a fringe fundamentalist religion.

I am the daughter of a former head of a violent religious sect. Let's talk, please. Tell me how you're doing?

Peace.

• Hugs
  • Love
Reactions: WrongPlaceWrongTime, noname223, WonderingSoul and 13 others
T

thisplaceisaprison

Student
Mar 20, 2019
Violent religious sect? I'd like to know more about that. I was raised in church and when my school and subsequently church found out I was gay I was berated by a bunch of kids then until I graduated high school - I always wish I had came out after graduation instead because most guys did and didn't deal with it in school/church coming out after 18.

• Hugs
  • Aww..
  • Love
Reactions: lofticries, WrongPlaceWrongTime, blueclover_. and 6 others
Snake of Eden

Snake of Eden

“Ye shall be as gods..🍎 🐍”
Jun 22, 2021
I dont know if what I went through is abuse but I was heavily indoctrinated into religious world view that I cant break away from. It makes it like impossible for me to think any differently. It makes me unable to ctb because I cant shake of the stories in my head about what happens after death. It is detrimental to my goal now and I dont have any solution for it

• Hugs
  • Aww..
Reactions: Leiden, Arrow, ascetic_ and 10 others
Zzzzz

Zzzzz

Nothing compares to the bliss of death.
Aug 8, 2018
Yes I was indoctrinated into Mormonism since birth. I don't know if it fits your definition , but it is a very mentally and emotionally controlling religion. It would not have been quite so bad if they didn't hate gay people at the time. They still are anti-gay doctrinally but have improved somewhat socially in that regard. My only preference for my funeral is that it be not a religious service.

• Hugs
  • Aww..
Reactions: little helpers, AlwaysAnhedonia, RazzleDazzle and 6 others
9BBN

9BBN

Heaven, send Hell away
Mar 29, 2021