N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
I am only a layman so take my words with a grain of salt. I have huge stress in college currently. I try to avoid a relapse.

I realized I am under a lot of pressure currently. It is pretty hard to cope with. Even my usual mechanisms to cope don't really work. Always when I try to relax I am still thinking about college. So college is "negative stress/distress" for me. I take sedatives and other medication to stay somewhat stable. But I want to add more than just taking pills. And here comes eustress into play. It is a long time ago I read about it so I rather link and quote an internet source.

What is eustress?
Eustress is usually a product of nerves, which can be brought on when faced with a fun challenge. Genovese says this is important because, without eustress, our well-being can suffer

"Eustress produces positive feelings of excitement, fulfillment, meaning, satisfaction, and well-being," Lee said. He explains that eustress is good because you feel confident, adequate, and stimulated by the challenge you experience from the stressor.

What is distress?
In terms of opposites, distress and eustress are on either end of the spectrum. Unlike eustress, distress can make you feel overwhelmed because your resources (physically, mentally, emotionally) are inadequate to meet the demands you're facing.

College is for me most of the time negative stress. I have kind of the impostor syndrome and I have very high expectations of mine. My abuse story triggers me so much when I am faced with performance pressure at college. It feels like my life was endangered this is why I need addictive medication to cope.