GoodPersonEffed

GoodPersonEffed

Brevity is my middle name, but my name was TL
Jan 11, 2020
I didn't learn how to walk well until I got a toy stroller for my second birthday and had something to hold onto.

When I was a kid, my dad got so frustrated trying to teach me to hit a ball with a bat. I'd swing and rarely connect. Catching objects has always been difficult. I was the right-field laughingstock of my softball team.

When I tried to learn how to golf, I'd usually swing and either hit the ground or miss the ball on the tee by swinging too high.

I was physically awkward in my younger years. I was often a laughingstock. I tripped easily, and ran into things that were obvious.

I suck at high-fives.

I'm a decent enough driver, but I had a propensity for scraping the hubcap on curbs when parallel parking.

Heights have always scared me. It took a great effort of will to jump off a high dive, and hitting the water was usually painful because my balance was off.

3-D movies were amazing.

I figured out in my twenties that I don't have stereo vision. I see the world two-dimensionally like a photograph. Objects don't float out.

I'm convinced this has contributed to headaches, neck and shoulder aches, and stomach issues. I think it affects the vestibular impact on my balance.

I was never cross-eyed nor did I have a lazy eye. I had a mild seizure disorder when I was a baby, perhaps that played a role.

I've done my research. There are therapies for this problem. They take a long time. I know of some of the exercises, but I don't have the means for a detailed diagnosis and treatment.

I never told my family about this issue, I don't know why. In part, I was already used to it. In part, they might have rolled their eyes (hah) and criticized. But really, I don't know why I didn't tell them. Maybe one day they'll come to this site seeking answers about my death, read my posts, and have an a-ha moment.