dragonofenvy

dragonofenvy

Mage
Oct 8, 2023
My sister invited me to my niece's 1st birthday party, and I thought, "Oh that's right, I forgot I had a niece." I considered accepting the invitation but I knew how I would fare. I would awkwardly sit around, not speaking until I found my chance to leave, and then most likely my mother would say something along the lines of "Thanks for socializing with your family, see you next year!" in a condescending manner. I still feel guilty about being the deadbeat uncle who isn't around, who doesn't care about their family, even the newly born ones.

I thought back to all of my fleeting friendships and how I never felt any connection even with them. The closest thing I had to a real friendship was when I was 18 when I hung out with two people for the first time in my life, and then I treated them poorly for the year that I would know them before I graduated and they were finally able to get away from me. I think to myself often that I would be able to cope with life if I had just one friend. I feel bitter envy when I see couples together knowing that I will never have what they have.

My discord friend's brother CTB'd a long time ago. I felt nothing. I've realized now that despite having been crushed by loneliness for my entire life. I'm either too damaged or there's something wrong with me that I am incapable of feeling any connection to anyone else. I've given it genuine efforts, I've felt as though I've liked being around people certain people but could never get close to them, probably because I'm so socially inept that it's impossible to. I can't improve my social skills to try to get closer to others because nobody likes socially awkward people.