N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
Not sure where to post it. It is about suicide but mostly about suicide prevention this is why I thought recovery was the best place

My keyboard still does not work fully. Though I think this will be a long thread. Firstly I am not an expert and I don't have full knowledge on the case which I will talk about. But I read some media reports.

The first suicide which impacted me in my llife was the suicide of Robert Enke. He was a German soccer goalkeeper. I did not know much about depression or suicide at this early stage in my life. Though I can remember me and my father played the soccer game Fifa and my dad made a joke about his suicide soon after his death. My dad himself had depression and somewhat (not serious) suicidal thoughts. I think he feels superior or smarter towards people who have committed suicide. Another sign for me why I should not listen to his advices. He is quite a moron.

The wife/widow of Robert Enke explained herself soon after his suicide. I think she gave a press conference. It was really heartbreaking. However I was too young to fully grasp what has happened. I can remember one edgy youtuber made a joke about the fact Enke jumped in front of a train. This guy probably also had suicidal thoughts and depression. I was sad about the suicide but could not fully understand it.

His widow said (I try to translate it) "We thought with love we could make it!". She wanted to imply that they thought their love was strong enough to overcome his major depression. She had to admit they were wrong on that. I read Enke had appoinments with his psychiatrist the first time in 2002/2003. (He committed suicide in 2009). There was a debate in German media about his suicide. That love is not enough to prevent a suicide. Bascially the main question of this thread.