N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
I am not an expert tbh. I don't know a lot about it. But I know they spend billions on new technologies for travelling to space. I think there are different reasons. Many are curious about the space. Could we find aliens or new life? Honestly I doubt it. I think it is way more likely the aliens travel to us and not the opposite direction. Our technology is not that advanced. If Russia or China dominates this technology we are fucked. We need our satellites or I think some weapons can only be used from the space. But I am not an expert. I barely know anything.

Another good reasoning is probably the following: We can only get better in some science fields if we explore more planets. I don't know much about new knowledge we can get through that. I am not sure how important it is. Maybe someone here has some insights.

I sometimes think it is a waste of money. Mabye not the science part but the shit Elon Musk wants to do. Some rich fuckers who claim they would care about poverty or climate change waste their money with space tourism. I know some people say the gaze on this blue planet can be life changing. It can make you realize how vulnerable we are. But space tourism will make it only worse. Some many people starve every single day. And you don't know anything better to waste your money on. Okay maybe it is better than spending 400 k on a virtual apartment in the metaverse.

I just think some people have a little bit too much money and a little bit too few brain cells. But maybe they are only selfish and not stupid.

Reactions: katagiri83
A

Alex6216

Mage
Apr 19, 2022
Yes. Space is literally a pipe dream and is a massive waste of money and time which could be spent fixing the trouble on the Earth.