CameronFrye

CameronFrye

There’s nothing there
Feb 20, 2022
I wish I wasn't so boring and I could at least channel this mental illness into SOMETHING meaningful. Art, music, writing, or anything that would make it easier to cope with living like this. I also wish I was interesting enough for people to care about me despite my mental illness.
I wish people wanted to be around me because there was something worthwhile beyond the mental illness. I wish I had meaning friendships and could do fun things with them to help alleviate the pain. But instead I have no talents or interesting qualities whatsoever. So in addition to being mentally ill, I hate myself even more, and have no outlets to help me feel better.

Last edited:
  • Hugs
  • Love
Reactions: Pisceslilith, tieiwi, artificial_ineptness and 7 others
ColorlessTrees

ColorlessTrees

Stuck
Jan 4, 2022
Yes. I am technically unskilled in most creative pursuits, even the ones I studied theory of—drawing is the worst offender. Whether I enjoy writing depends on my energy level, and it is always indulgent bullshit. I am too blocked to create or brainstorm properly, but I will tell you this: creativity itself is a skill that requires practice.

Plenty of people have innate 'talent', but talent only takes you so far; it is commonly cited that mastery requires 10,000 hours. This may prove difficult if you suffer from debilitating illness of the mind or body. Is there a certain creative skill you'd like to have? Which of the list appeals to you most? Have you ever daydreamed, crafted characters, or come up with a premise or idea you're fond of? Have you ever continued the story of others' works? Everything starts with a seed, and every completed work of art begins with a rough outline, a sketch, a premise, etc. The things you don't see—the prerequisites and brainstorming, the hours of work—are the foundation.