Thanksforeverything

Thanksforeverything

A handshake of carbon monoxide
Jul 24, 2023
I started when I graduated high school. College is when life just went to shit. The prospect that it was only going to get worse as I progressed further was way too much. So, I started small with marijuana. I'd smoke every day which eventually built up tolerance. And then I moved on to abusing prescription meds, benzos, opioids, antipsychotics. Basically anything that either made me a little numb or gave me a false sense of euphoria. At one point I was blacking out every night from overdose. I stopped abusing meds knowing how slippery that slope was getting and was lucky enough to not suffer from any withdrawal but I resorted back to smoking weed. Then came the worst. ALCOHOL. For the past couple of years, I've finished a full bottle of whiskey every SINGLE day. Anytime I'm alone and I need to drown out this constant noise in my head, I reach for the bottle. I haven't "Abused" harder stuff like meth or heroin, but I've tried almost everything under the sun at least once.

At this point, I sometimes wonder was all this effort to feel a little bit better temporarily, ruin any chance I had at actually getting better. I'm under no illusion that my substance abuse wasn't the cause for most of my failures in my day-to-day life, cause it absolutely was. But I sometimes wonder which one's the one to blame for my resolve to CTB? Is it the depression that came first? Or is it the substance abuse I tried to cope with that made it all worse?

Last edited:
  • Hugs
Reactions: Neptunette, theRetroHawk, borntobesilly:/ and 1 other person
CasTheFriendlyGhost

CasTheFriendlyGhost

call me Caspar
Jan 5, 2024