FireFox

FireFox

Enlightened
Apr 8, 2020
I graduated in 2019 and graduating just worsened my already declining mental health.

When my university exams ended I was so upset whereas everyone in my class was so happy.

My classmates had all these cool graduation plans and I didn't have any plans. My class mates had planned to travel , do a masters degree and were excited about post university life. I was absolutely scared about losing my student identity.

I wasn't happy at my own graduation ceremony because I didnt have my life together or anything to look forward too. I felt like a massive failure.

The months after graduation were just difficult. I couldn't cope at all. I had all the free time in the world but it made me depressed and i didn't know what to do with it. When i was university I was so focused and motivated but when I graduated I just lost all focus . I applied for graduate schemes because of the job stability and never having to worry about the uncertainty of unemployment . A graduate scheme is a job training programme for graduates which lasts for 3 years. The massive employers in the UK use graduate schemes to recruit graduates for job roles in thier company.

I failed to get on a graduate schemes. I have also applied for retail and supermarket jobs and have faced rejection.

Being unemployed I had found it it harder to build relationships with people because everyone talks about their job and life outside of work. I struggled to keep a relationship with my university friends because all they talked about was life in thier new universities and my other friend who did au pair as a nanny in Spain.

I stopped talking to people ever since being unemployed after graduating. It gets embarrassing after a while saying you are still looking for a job.