ArchmagePrincess

ArchmagePrincess

Magical Princess of Death
Aug 31, 2022
Does anyone have advice or experiences about getting on disability? Financial troubles and having to work are the main factors for me wanting to CTB so maybe I could get better if I have financial support. My mental health certainly gets in the way of keeping jobs and I've had a few mental health professionals say I could qualify if I tried, but what's the process like? I'm completely new to the concept and don't know anything.

Other than that my big concern is being forced onto medication to keep the benefits. I know they just make things worse for me and while therapy has just been really patronizing I could deal with it if I meant I could get benefits.

• Hugs
Reactions: Looking and not-2-b-the-answer
western_heart

western_heart

trying to save ourself
May 23, 2021
I wish you luck... if you have medical professionals who will support your case it is probably worth pursing.

I tried to get social security disability and failed. I was seeing doctors that were supportive of me not working and told me to file for disability, but I could not afford to stay living in the city they were in & moved out of state & the doctors I got in the new state were not good, neither at treating me nor helping my disability case. I had an attorney, they filed the appeals and did some documentation gathering, and after two years it went to an in person hearing (pre pandemic). My case wasn't the strongest, at the time I was mainly diagnosed with depression/anxiety, had never been hospitalized (...was avoiding it, and learned to be very good at hiding how I really feel, because I know the hospital would be traumatizing), and was starting to seem better around the time of the last appeal. They said I was moderately disabled, and that because I could theoretically do some job that does not actually exist anymore, that I am not eligible for benefits.