one.way.out

one.way.out

Student
Jul 9, 2021
I feel like this has been said before, but "getting better," at least to me, feels like losing. It seems so many people seem to keep going even when their depression is never going to go away, just because they've bought into this idea of never giving up, endless perseverance. I have a chemical imbalance, there's a strong family history of depression. My mother has been on antidepressants her whole life, and will have to stay on them for the rest of her life. I don't want to spend the rest of my life fighting. I'm not a fighter, I never have been. I want a quiet, content life, I want to go the normal path in life. I'm not a contrarian, I don't have any grand fantasies. I just want to get a job, marry, have kids, live out a quiet life full of small pleasures. However, depression, autism, and my life circumstances are making it very difficult to even achieve these supposedly simple and banal things. To be honest, the one thing that would make me not suicidal is a partner. True love, I guess. However, I know I'll fuck it up, I know I'm not good enough, I know I'm a piece of shit and will make their life worse. So why not kill myself?

• Hugs
Reactions: lobster salad, it's_all_a_game, FuneralCry and 4 others
ncmxm

ncmxm

Experienced
Jun 9, 2021
If you have depression and you have a family history of depression, why om earth would you want kids who will most likely have depression too

Why would you want to wish this hell on someone else

Reactions: demuic, filthyrottendirty, electrojellysoup and 1 other person
Mr2005

Mr2005

Don't shoot the messenger, give me the gun
Sep 25, 2018
If you have depression and you have a family history of depression, why om earth would you want kids who will most likely have depression too

Why do you want a burger? It tastes good. That poor cow