M

MollerPlesset

Nov 26, 2022
Dear friends,
I have a PhD in computational chemistry and have struggled to find a job in the last four years. Currently I work at Walmart to get some money and help my mental health by being active. But I hate my days off because it is when I keep applying for computational chemistry jobs. I feel so much shame of asking for recommendation letters when obviously I will not get this job as all the other 30 jobs I have applied. I cry before applying for the jobs and I cry after finishing the application process. I rather just die that to keep having to feel this pain and shame.
Thank you for listening to me.
My best wishes,
MollerPlesset

• Hugs
Reactions: landslide2, kunikuzushi, mlha and 5 others
destinationlosangel

destinationlosangel

Experienced
Feb 16, 2024
Hey I'm so sorry. You have a PhD in computational chemistry I mean you must be really intelligent. I am sure with some effort you would land a job, if that is something you're looking for. I feel sad reading what u have posted. Try to look at it this way. This is life. It is how these things work. Making requests for recommendation letters and such. You've aced a lot of tests and exams im sure, before u ultimately got ur PhD. Look at this asking for a rec letter as something like that. Just sth u have to do so u can get this job.
Wishing you all the very best! :)

T

ThatStateOfMind

Enlightened
Nov 13, 2021
Dear friends,