N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
I have read the language we use can affect our mental health. I am no expert but here is my personal experience with it.

I think one can frame a situation in a positive, closely neutral and in a negative way. I think this can affect how we think about things. Positive framing and positive language can alleviate pain.

However in my experience positive language can also be annoying. When I had severe depression positivity felt toxic for me. I was annoyed by positive framings. Most of these statements felt like platitudes for me. I leaned to nihilism.

Though I think on the longterm usage nihilism is no good concept when you try to heal. For me nihilism had short-term use but longterm it rather made me feel more depressed.

In recovery I try to use more positive connoted vocabulary. Language can be a powerful tool. It affects how we think about our selves and how we treat ourselves.

Personally I try that I don't solely expose myself to negative framings. It can make you more sad. However just changing the framing often does not solve the problem. Sometimes it can have a positive impact. And it can be the beginning for a journey that tries to improve the life quality.

But of course not every problem can be solved simply by changing the perspective. For example poverty is such a topic for me. I really tried to change the perspective on it but I am still convinced this will be hell for me.