Hopeless_soul

Hopeless_soul

Soon
Jan 3, 2019
Hello,

First of all, I'm sorry if this question has been asked before.
Next week I'm going to buy all the equipment necessary for the eb/ig method. At first, I was sure that I was going to use a 100% industrial helium tank (for welding). Perhaps I was being biased because the stuff I had read on the method praised He over other ig. But now being sure that Ne would be as reliable, I think I could go for that instead. If I decide to get Ne, it'd be easy to say that I need it for brewing. However, I wouldn't know what to say if I decide to buy 100% He. The place I'll get the He from sells they type you need to inflate balloons and for welding (pure He). So, I have no idea what to say if they ask what I need it for.

Last year I went to that shop just to see if they didn't have a problem with selling me pure He, and it was fine. I just said I was a student, and that I needed it for an experiment. They gave me a strange look, but it was ok. But now I don't want to spoil my chances.

Maybe it's just easier to get the Ne, and it's probably going to be cheaper. Pure He was about $600. Don't remember exactly.
---

I have another doubt: Could the efficacy of the method be compromised with the fact that I'm a smoker? In another post, someone said it would; however, I don't believe I have a real lung problem now (I would in the future. I'm a heavy smoker, but now I'm fine I'd guess).

Reactions: TheCrow, harriet3456, Lifeisatrap and 2 others
T

TiredHorse

Enlightened
Nov 1, 2018
Ne? Neon? Really? Why not just use Nitrogen (N2)? Aside from buying the tank itself, it's cheap.