dazed_dreamer

dazed_dreamer

at the end of everything, hold on to anything
Sep 21, 2023
I'm a college student, and I'm having a really hard time doing work recently. I mostly enjoy what I'm studying (psych/neuro/bio courses), and have an easier schedule this semester. But I'm having such a hard time focusing and even reading dense material. Even when I set aside time for reading and want to do it, I just can't process it half the time.
I think this is an on and off state, not permanent cognitive damage or anything. I'm assuming it's brain fog from depression. I think it's particularly bad right now because I'm in/coming out of an acute depression crisis. Does anyone have any advice for how to manage this brain fog and get some work done regardless? I wish I could take some time off to ride it out, but that's not really any option at the moment. I mean I could, but it'd be a hard, extreme solution.

• Hugs
Reactions: sadwriter
AshClouds

AshClouds

In time I started growing inward.
Apr 10, 2023
if you think its necessary, you can talk to your school about taking a temporary leave. You get a recommendation from a doctor, and you can take as much time as you need. I know someone who took off two years.

Reactions: Inthewind and dazed_dreamer
dazed_dreamer

dazed_dreamer

at the end of everything, hold on to anything
Sep 21, 2023
if you think its necessary, you can talk to your school about taking a temporary leave. You get a recommendation from a doctor, and you can take as much time as you need. I know someone who took off two years.