K

Kybutter

Jan 4, 2021
Hello, this is my first time posting on this board. I am a 28 year old male from the US. I have been battling severe depression since the age of 12. Suicidal thoughts and I are no strangers to each other, we are very much on a first name basis. I've never actually attempted to hurt myself, but I've come close to "pulling the trigger" on a few occasions. The only thing that stops me? The guilt.

Not the guilt of leaving behind those who care about me, they will be fine in time. Not the guilt of cheating myself out of my remaining days, that seems quite inconsequential. No. Not the standard reasons. I feel guilt because I have (had) everything at my disposal to be happy. I own a successful business. I drive a nice car. I go on incredible vacations. I have amazing friends and up until the last few months, an incredible wife. I had a relatively normal childhood where my dad had a great job and I never wanted for anything.

So where does the root of my depression come from? I'm not sure. I wish I knew the answer to that question. But the tremendous amount of guilt that washes over me daily says the same thing over and over: "You are a disgrace. There are millions of people who would kill to be in your position. Healthy and financially stable. Attractive and socially adept. If only they had what I had, they would do what you fail to every day: appreciate it."

I have a complete and total inability to extract joy from anything. Ultimately, at the end of the day, I am left with a complete sense of nihilism. Nothing matters. All of my efforts have been for naught. I will be in the same 6ft deep hole in the ground regardless of what happens. And the thought consumes me.