S

scubadam

just a guy trying to find peace
Aug 4, 2024
tl;dr: i never cut myself as a form of punishment or getting my emotions out, i even actually like it, and im trying to figure out why

first time i cut myself i was something around 16.5 and i did it just to see what was the whole hassle about. it felt weird, but i didn't feel bad for it later and quickly forgot about it

at 17 i went for a trip to a foreign country to try out something i've never done before with people whom i have never met before. for some reason i took one razor blade with me (i seriously can't remember why, maybe it was for cleaning up my eyebrow slot) and held it in my wallet. on the last day i unintentionally hurt an animal, but i felt that as a punishment i should hurt myself too, so i could kind of "feel it's pain on me". those three cuts were the deepest i've ever went, i felt my forearm go numb (i thought i messed up my nerves but i was just panicking) and i promised myself to never to do that again. of course it did not work

when i came back to school, after a week or so i started cutting every second day or so. they were never deep or big or anything, i didn't think of them as a form of punishment or getting emotions onto me; i actually enjoyed it. i didn't like the pain itself, but seeing blood on my hand and the wound afterwards was always something nice. my best friend would cut too, but he would go extremely deep for a first timer. i am the only person that he has ever told about it. the only time i felt bad about it was when i sat next to my dad in a train and my left arm was on his side, so i didn't really have a way to hide it. i didn't want him to worry about me, i'm sure he saw them but, he has never said a single word about it