Y

ygornimoy

Apr 14, 2020
What if you could kill just a part of you?

I mean, what if you could change your thinking pattern? Or change some of your behaviors?

The Joker did it. But he went evil.

In my case, I am almost 50, and, since the cost of living here in Panama is high, I am forced to change the apartment with my mom, a domineering woman who is a religious fanatic, rarely leaves the house, so I take advantage of that.

I am thinking of changing the following: become more sociable, but people tend to take advantage of me because I am always anxious.

I am thinking of working more as a freelancer. I am a programmer, but I use Upwork, Guru, Freelancer, and those sites exploit people.

I want to kill that part of me that is always anxious. And little by little, separate myself from my mom. Too old to be here with her.

You could go and skydive, or insult a bully that terrifies you, or stand up to your domineering parents.

• Love
Reactions: Bct and Oyoy
blivogade

blivogade

Nov 7, 2019
Id most likely also kill the anxious part of me, would probably have a completely different life if it wasn't for the anxiety thats plagued me for so long.

Reactions: Isittimetogonola, Oyoy and Pisceslilith
U

UnluckyFew

Apr 1, 2020
Interesting question!

I haven't given it a lot of thought, but here's what I think having not given it deliberated it extensively; If I could destroy any part of myself then I would destroy my consciousness, my subjective first person experience, rendering me a "philosophical zombie". This would allow me to cease to exist, but those around me would be none the wiser and wouldn't be able to tell the difference. I would essentially die without anyone knowing. This of course presumes that it is possible to destroy just your consciousness and that "philosophical zombies" even can exist. How consciousness arises is something that still puzzles us.

Reactions: Pupu and Erase.myself
itsamadworld

itsamadworld

i wanna die somewhere like up there