N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
I have an acquaintance who tells other people he supports eugnics. I think he uses this term to be provocative and he wants to trigger most libs as possible. My friends tell me to cut him out of my life. I have made a thread about him recently don't want to go into details. I just in this moment ignore him and instead talk to you.

Of course the Nazi crimes were horrible. Using the term eugnics is very very ignorant, inhuman and more than just stupid.

But the topic human gentics is a very touchy one. I think many people in this forum support antinatalism. So no kids at all. There are many different things which can be called human genetics. Some use tedious terms to depict supporters as monsters.

Honestly I am not an expert. And ethically it is very very complex issue. And I have way too less knowledge to give a competent insight in this topic.

I thought about making a thread about human gentics and the down syndrome. But I think due to the fact that the vast majority have made horrible experiences with life, often abuse and dealing with disability I thought maybe the discussion was too one-sided. In my country it is the discussion whether the insurance companies should pay for test which tell parents whether their child has the down syndrom.

And just starting this topic seems a little bit too cheap for me. I like when I can be contrarian but I have a clear answer for that question. I favor that insurances pay for the test.
The dude who claims to be in favor of eugenics claims it would be a good idea to select only people with a high IQ. What a foolish idea. Maybe he demonstrates that going that road can lead to pretty dangerous and stupid developments.

There are different ideas. Like transhumanism and posthumanism.
The goal to prevent certain hereditary illnesses.
Then there is the term designer baby. Not sure how widespread in other countries but I read about it a lot in the media.