J

jruo

Apr 25, 2023
I like to play very grindy MMORPG games while I watch horror movies, and meticulously catalogue, rate, than add to a goodlist badlist or mehlist for every single one on my LBD account. I than refer to these lists when I want to play a more focused game without needing to pay 100% attention. Goodlist for games that require only a bit more attention, meh for quite a bit, and bad for story heavy games.

I've been using this coping mechanism for 2 or 3 years now. I'm in a situation where I have to take care of my brothers dog since he bought a house he can barely afford. When I complain he threatens to get rid of them all and kick me out. He also pays and takes care of my mom who has full access to his money. She is in constant need of help and assistance, and has a lot of mental illnesses including Borderline personality which is extremely tough to deal with most days. I feel so stuck, but without these coping mechanisms to preoccupy my mind I'd be coping in worse ways and probably be gone by now. Lately though I've been feeling unfulfilled and as though things in my life are becoming stagnant. I feel so stuck.

What are some things you do to distract yourself from doing unhealthy and negative things to yourself/others? Do you consider these habits to be addictions? Are they only temporary solutions to something underlying that needs to be addressed? Or are you able to function without them?

Either way, I thank you for reading, I appreciate your time.

• Love
Reactions: heavyeyes, fallenangel444 and thankyou
thankyou

thankyou

Thank you šŸ™
Mar 2, 2023
Video games too. I used to not allow myself to have non-productive hobbies but video games are literally saving my life right now. Anything with heavy escapism. I've been also binging horror movies while gaming, and I mostly play building games, like I'll play Sims but only for building homes. And farming simulators like Stardew.