whatevs

whatevs

Mining for copium in the weirdest places.
Jan 15, 2022
So, I don't know if someone remembers, but I finished my internship and was offered a partial time job in a startup. However, the final call didn't come, and when I pressed the CEO he had a call with me and told me that even though I have solid technical skills (I'm a programmer), my social side was lackluster, and he even felt that he 'couldn't trust me'.

To be honest, this is bittersweet, not just bitter. I didn't actually want this job, but I enjoyed the pretense of having a future, the work itself removed from the people and the hopeful spark in the eyes of my relatives. I disliked the CEO and half of the employees in the company, and was stressed out during my time there. I had very little in common with these normies, their interests, their ideals. There was some tension because I didn't fit in, I'm sure. I think the CEO took the right decision. A guy that did the internship alongside me was offered a job finally, after both of us competing fiercely. He was a noticeably worse programmer but enjoyed talking about soccer and going out with the coworkers.

Basically this is something I saw coming and wasn't shocked. I don't care about the money, I became a programmer to try to find my place in the world, there's not much I could do with money with my physical and mental issues. The real failure here is social, as usual. This simply confirmed to me that it's an uphill battle to be tolerated by people I barely can tolerate myself. I need to feel better, be less bitter, but also find some place where I feel more comfortable with people. It's hard but not impossible.

At least I keep having my mobile game app going on, which will be published next year. That's nice, and so is having a supportive family, but I don't feel that the net is sturdy enough to hold me. I need something else.

Last edited:
  • Hugs
Reactions: Nolan96, Pluto, noname223 and 16 others
Dead Ghost

Dead Ghost