T

Talokin

May 17, 2019
I'm NOT trying to discuss politics. Promise. I will NOT refer to political parties/ideologies. Instead I will write XYZ.

But I have been communicating with a therapist who was helping me find a permanent therapist. She knows people I know and has even been to my apt.

She sent me a list of therapists for me to try and I said:
- they seem like the same XYZ therapists that haven't helped me for the past 30 years
- I think you have a broader understanding than the XYZ type
-that was ALL I said about politics
-talked about having severe brain fog from benzo withdrawal

Her response was very long but included:
"Your response to the therapists I recommended is quite astounding to me, but I understand that it is some part speaking, not the part I met. Believe me, I am also a XYZ therapist, and your attributions to me from the pictures on my wall are flattering but overrated. If you read my profile on Psychology Today, I sound exactly like the people you have disparaged.
Again, sorry to have intruded into the system of your closed circle, angry/scared parts. If there is another part whom would welcome some help, please don't hesitate to contact me."

edit - the reference to "parts" has to do with the type of therapy (Internal Family Systems) and not MPD/DID

Please...I new I'm new here...but I'm in agony over this. I was feeling hopeful with her help. Does anyone have any insight about this? Experienced similar?

And she knows I'm suicidal...I almost wonder if she thinks I'm "beyond help"...

Last edited:
  • Aww..
Reactions: FTL.Wanderer
S

Shakespear's Brother

Sep 10, 2019
I find it unusual that a therapist would choose to qualify any behavior of a person they are helping as "astounding". It's quite judgemental.

And that bit about another part welcoming her help seems like a passive aggressive dig of sorts. But tbh, I may not know enough about DID to be accurate in saying that.