N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
I don't want to mock this therapy. It sounds promising. I am not sure. I think I once read about it in this forum. But I could not find it anymore. So I thought make a new thread about it.

I am no expert. But this article says one should not try this at home. One has to do this with a doctor usually. They do research with this therapy method. I could imagine that if you want to take part in one you might could ask a clinic, research center or college. The poo has to be screened so that it is is safe. Poo from a person with an illness can potentially do damage. This article says when the poo is "clean" (is this an oxymoron? ) there are barely any side effects. The people often take shit from their partner (pun not intended). I think psychologically this is an interesting fact. Why do people considier the poo of their partner as better to ingest? Why are they more comfortable with this notion? I think to ingest is probably a better term than eating because it is in a capsule.
Compared with medication there seem to be less side effects. I don't know I assume it costs quite some effort to overcome ingesting it. One can also ingest it through the anal.

Not sure from which person I would take it. Personally I think I would not mind to get it from an unknown person. I think for me the most important factor was that is healthy and his gut microbiome had a very high quality. If this therapy shows success I could imagine trying it. In case I still exist.

Maybe I should have explained this earlier. But here is how it works (according to the article)

"Trillions of bacteria live in our guts. This so-called gut microbiome has a huge impact on our health in general, not just the health of our brain."

"The idea behind poo transplants is to change the gut microbiome. You take poo, with all its micro-organisms, from a healthy person and give it to the one being treated."