Jack4230

Jack4230

Lame
Sep 8, 2019
How do you deal with stress? Im a college student in my 3rd year and there's a good chance I fail 2 classes this semester. I get so stressed and end up procrastinating everything. My day to day is a living hell but I want to get better I just can't seem to motivate myself to actually study even though I'm stressed about it all the time.

• Hugs
Reactions: Cathy Ames
GrumpyFrog

GrumpyFrog

Exhausted
Aug 23, 2020
Oh, that's a tough one. Sounds like you're in a harsh situation, sorry about that.

I think it's not that you're unmotivated - or this problem wouldn't be on your mind 24/7 stressing you out. You're just overwhelmed.

There are many different ways of dealing with stress. Sometimes I feel better after breaking stuff and listening to "angry" loud music, sometimes it's the opposite and soothing stuff such as laying under a heavy blanket, taking a shower or watching mindless relaxing videos helps - it depends. I also find grounding techniques helpful when I feel anxious or overwhelmed.

Are there any way for you to make the process of studying more pleasant without being distracted, such as putting up your favourite music, making a hot drink of your choice etc.? Also, when I'm facing a big overwhelming task that I dread, I try to break it into smaller, more accomplishable tasks, and take breaks in between, doing something I enjoy. Do you think this can work for you? Can you think of stuff you can do during breaks that will make it feel less stressful?

Reactions: onlyanimalsaregood
T

timf

Enlightened
Mar 26, 2020
Could you change your ,major or stretch things out with a lighter class load?

Grav

Grav

Wizard
Jul 26, 2020