bigwomanbigwoman123

bigwomanbigwoman123

Sep 9, 2023
Here I want to give my thoughts on how suicide prevention currently functions, how its outcomes are actually more harmful then positive, how suicide prevention *should* work and how we can change the system. I also want to note that I am no expert. I am only giving information I can gather based on others' stories and, more rarely due to my silence in my suicidal ideation, my own experiences. Also, I tried my best with my grammar in this, I'm just not too good at english.

In the United Kingdom, and I'm sure many other countries, suicide prevention is done by these methods: take away the means of suicide, send them to a psych ward if a person shows risk factors and criminalise assisted suicide. If we look at the numbers before and after implementing these methods into a country, sure, the numbers go down. This should mean that the methods are working and investing more into this way of suicide prevention is good, right?

From an logical perspective, sure. But from a ethical perspective these are not only an ineffective methods but extremely immoral. I will show why all this does is result in more suffering. Let's take each of the ways our current society prevents suicide:

-Taking away the means of suicide; we all here can agree that those who are at risk of suicide are suffering. Many suffer physically, others mentally, but to suffer so much that you would prefer to be dead is unfortunate. To then take away the relief from the sufferer will only cause more misery. At this point I want to make extra clear that we should not just leave the sufferer alone and decide that we don't want to help them, I will refer about this later when I come to talk *good* suicide prevention.