Distorted

Distorted

living dead youth
Sep 8, 2021
i used to think that i was good at art and music. my grades were always great, too. at some point in middle school i became very depressed and stopped working on my skills aside from school. well, once i got into high school i even gave up on grades. now i am 20 and lacking in any sort of intelligence or drive. it sucks. i sit down, try to draw something, but the lines make no sense. i can't tell if the drawing is good, it becomes distorted in my mind. even my arms do not feel strong enough to hold a pencil. sometimes i play guitar, and i can tell i am making progress. but i do not feel satisfaction. it seems like everyone has a hobby or somewhat productive passion that they can retreat to, but i have no such thing. i had much greater goals for myself when i was younger, hoping to become a surgeon of some kind. how dumb of me. i stopped drawing, focused on school, and now i am a b student with no hobby. it makes me realize that i have never been able to dedicate myself at all. i can't dedicate myself to people either, as i do not love anyone. at this point, i go through each of my multiple coping mechanisms (eating, jacking off, self harm, playing video games for hours) until the day ends. i haven't made progress in years. i am painfully aware of this and wish it could change, but i also can't find any true reason to. i want to die, but i also want to appear to have everything together in the meantime. maybe there's an ounce of hope in me still, but i know it's futile. if i cannot stick to it and dedicate myself to it, did i ever really love it? i always break what is supposed to be precious to me. self sabotage is my only constant. i wish i could love my ideas, care enough about my possessions and body enough to not trash them. i remember once my dad got me some art supplies, but by now i have either broken or lost it all. i was always good at things without trying. now i am subpar. maybe my brain has deteriorated