ecmnesia

ecmnesia

the only thing humans are equal in is death
Aug 30, 2020
basically, I have issues to open up and there are many delicate issues (like self-harm, suicide, sexual abuse, parents abuse) that I don't know how to introduce. I'm deeply ashamed to talk about my feelings and all those stuff. Plus I don't want to be judged (I'm too self-conscious for my own good) or face a consequence like involuntary hospitalization.
I've been to the psychiatrist before, been on meds for 6 months or something, but we don't really talk, so I didn't have to face this.
I don't know how to explain it but I'm scared and want to give up (just like I've been doing for the last 11 years). Can anyone help me by sharing their knowledge on the matter? Like... what should I expect? Is there something I shouldn't talk about?
Sorry for the rant, thanks for reading.

• Hugs
  • Aww..
Reactions: I_love_to_bake, deadgirlahsatan, Stick and 2 others
L

L-L

-
Nov 14, 2019
Hey ecmnesia. In my experience the quality of an interaction depends entirely upon the psychiatrist as an individual. I've seen some who are absolutely brilliant, and others who have been terrible and almost dismissive.

Don't forget that they are there to help you. If you want to, when they say hello and how are you, tell them how you're nervous and worried.

In terms of being concerned about bringing your issues up: try not to be. The chances are that they've treated people who share similarities to yourself. If they judge? Fuck em.

Expect it to be uncomfortable - more because you're nervous than it actually being awkward. They will ask you some questions about yourself which might be unpleasant, too. Chances are this will be towards the start of your appointment because they'll be trying to get a handle on what they're dealing with, too.