purgedXO

purgedXO

blaire
Sep 27, 2023
I'm going to mostly be ranting about my job and the attendance policy and how careless I am. All of it is my fault, but I feel stupid. I work in retail, which isn't the worst. I like my job, I've had it for two years, I'm used to the people, I'm used to how everything works, and the idea of having to possibly get a new job or being fired absolutely terrifies me. It started yesterday, when I had issues with clocking in. We clock in through our phones and it wasn't cooperating. When I was finally clocked in, I was considered a few minutes late, and I forgot to fix it. It was busy, so I started working, and fixing the punch in time slipped my mind. We can get five points before we are terminated. I'm at 4. Being late, even a few minutes late is considered .5 point. I can't fix it until Thursday, and by then it might be added on already. Sometimes it happens the day after, sometimes it takes a few days. It really depends on who's working and keeping up with it, from what I've seen.

It's also on me for getting up to 4 points. How'd that happen. With getting migraines, having car trouble, or what the fuck ever else there is, I managed to get up there.

Then today. I'm kicking myself, but I know how shitty I felt. I had a migraine with an aura. My vision was gone in one eye, and when it came back, it was distorted, my peripheral vision was black or splotchy and flashing. I could not safely drive to work with that going on, I could barely walk straight. And there's nothing I can do to just make it go away. I have to wait for it to go away on its own. I missed work, and I had just enough protected time (which we use to keep from getting a point, I had four hours, so it covered half my shift. So I'd be getting half a point for this absence.) Explaining all of this really narrows down the place I work at, so if you know what I'm talking about, you get it.