T

tonykp

Nov 16, 2022
I just read a forum thread about the most suicidal jobs, in the sense which jobs tend to end up high on the lists of suicide victims.
Police officers, soldiers, doctors, nurses, prostitutes, financial service workers.

I wonder what jobs are at the another end of the scale. Any guess?

My guesses are garden designer, astronomer, museums curator... Can you name any jobs that are even less stressful?

Reactions: sserafim
jodes2

jodes2

Hello people ❤️
Aug 28, 2022
DJing once you have enough work

Reactions: sserafim, Thánatos. and OldDrummer
Z

Zaljko

Oct 17, 2019
Librarian - but good luck getting a job in that field.

I got a masters in library and information science from the 3rd best library school in the country with a 3.889 GPA and can't even get job interviews, so now I have a job where I deal with people all the time and it stresses me out to the the point where I basically have constant suicidal ideation (it's a comfort because it's the only control I have over this shitty, absolutely awful career that I ended up in).

• Hugs
  • Aww..
Reactions: Grav, onlyanimalsaregood, hungry_ghost and 1 other person
N

never mind me

Student
Nov 7, 2022
I don't really know. And you also have to take into acoount that it might not be the stress level of a job that makes the difference, but some jobs having higher suicide rates can also be due to stuff like availability of means for suicide (like certain medications for doctors and nurses, guns for soldiers), self selection of people for certain jobs (for example people who suffered sexual abuse are more likely to work as prostitutes than people who didn't while being a victim of sexual abuse makes it also more likely to become mentally ill later in life which in turn can be a reason to commit suicide).

Reactions: sserafim and freedomcalls
Rounded Apathy

Rounded Apathy

Longing to return to stardust
Aug 8, 2022