F

fishtacos4me

Apr 15, 2021
Just want to vent about my job for a minute – I'm a relationship coach.

I have a 40-something client (let's call her Karen) with a teenaged daughter. She just told me this: "I love my daughter unconditionally, but she needs to do something for me in return if I'm going to continue."

I was speechless for a moment. I do keep in mind that these people are my clients precisely because they have missing or poor relationship skills – but this one really takes the cake. There is so much wrong here I couldn't even break it down in this post.

I didn't have words, so I did what I often do when I hear something that makes no damned sense whatsoever – I repeated the phrase back to her in my own words to see if I understood her correctly. I said, "So you love your daughter freely, no matter what happens, no strings attached, yet if she doesn't meet your terms, you'll stop? Am I understanding you?"

My client answered yes.

I just sat for a moment listening for crickets. First I was speechless, second I wanted to see if it would occur to her what she just said if I gave her a moment to think about it, third I needed to take several deep calming breaths. In spite of some time, she did not hear what she had just said. I thought I might need to switch to communicating in grunts and clicks at this point for us to continue because she obviously isn't using words right.

My head is spinning, and my heart goes out to her daughter.

As a relationship coach, I listen to this sort of crap 6 days a week. It's one of the reasons this world sucks so bad – that people have absolutely no idea how to treat one another decently.

I hear this garbage daily, too:

If I make him/her jealous will that help our relationship?

If I break up with him/her, will that help our relationship?

If I ignore him/her, will that help our relationship?

Keeping in mind that "help our relationship" is a totally whacked statement that usually means one of the following: