N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
I think Jordan Peterson claimed that.
I don't know much about the bible. I have read some passages and we talked about it in reilgious class. Sometimes in films they quote passages. I wanted to ask what your favorite passages are of that book but this thread already exists.

I think religion can comfort people and give them strength. But religion also cause(d) a lot of damage. The celibacy in the catholic church is one of the main causes for sexual abuse. Just because these old men are dogmatic about it so many young children have to suffer.
It is likely the next pope will be a traditionalist. I think they often alternate. One reformer, one conservative...but I am not an expert.

Yeah there will be a guy who is even more conservative than Pope Francis and this dude argumented once to hit your own children. Fucking idiot.

I could imagine that the bible is quite a smart book. I mean it had great success. I think no other fictional book had these good sales. (I am joking sorry)

I think there are people who profited from the wisdom this book contains. But it also caused wars, abuse and hatred. There is always a discussion how to interpret the book. Some argument you have to take it literally or you always have to keep in mind the time when the bible was written.

In my opinion it is not that unlikely that many of the prophets were just mentally ill. I mean so many in this book claim that they hear Gods voice and die for it. I have met a lot of psychotic/delusional people. Some pretended they were Jesus or another prophet on his or her mission.

Though I don't think that psychotic people could write such a coherent book. I think the people who wrote the bible were smart. Maybe even very smart. But I think enlightment was very important. The bible was written under special circumstances. To keep the historical context in mind is quite important in my opinion.