N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
Yeah I am playing devil's advocate. I think I am not an expert on this issue. And personally I rather doubt that God exists. I am not sure whether I believe in the following arguments but I want to elaborate it because it is kind of interesting for me.

I have the feeling some atheists develop a certain arrogance concerning believers. Like only they would be in the possession of rationality and science. They don't fall for such naive and simple ideas like a higher being. They are convinced that logic rules. That scientific methods are the only means to attain knowledge.

I think the initial point of that was enlightenment. In the past churches had even way more power. They influenced the destiny of whole countries. There was like this blind trust in faith without questioning it. Something similar happens to some atheists. They are blind to arguments which could destroy their world view. It is the other extreme of the other side of the spectrum.

The argument which has the most influence on me concerning this issue is the following: People strive for meaning in life. It is build in our genes to believe in something higher than us. It seems for me as if this need is not part of our rational mind. It feels irrational. But is this really irrational? I think it is debatable. Personally I am very interested which bias I currently have. Whether I have a positive shift or negative stift in thinking. Living with a mood disorder is quite an obstacle to find the answer to the question.

Here are some arguments why it might be not irrational to believe in a higher being.

Logic cannot give all the answers to all questions in life. There will probably remain questions which noone can solve. The notion that science could give us all answers is kind of naive. There are questions which science cannot solve.