CynicalHopelessness

CynicalHopelessness

Messenger of Silence
Jan 9, 2020
My life is lacking enjoyment, and having to sacrifice 8 hours for 5 days every week is frustrating.

Okay, I am extremely privileged compared to some, since I work 100% remotely, with decent pay and stuff I used to like. I used to love programming as a student, but when I started working as a software engineer, my passion waned but I was able to quickly pick up more interesting technologies and there still was a spark of joy when I coded out of my work. Switched jobs, and despite having better pay, tech & conditions, I lost enthusiasm in 2 months-ish and it all became a drag. Repeat once more - I was offered to work remotely with more convenient hours, with tech I love, less pay though - and now I have zero enthusiasm towards doing anything related at any time.

So, the more I pursued to turn what I enjoyed doing into an income source, the less there was to enjoy for me. There's always this forcing of hours, the power dynamic of "we pay you, so your wishes matter little", the pointlessness of everything you're doing as I've always been extremely removed from people whom were/are using what I was making, and the ever-looming homelessness and starvation should you stop spinning the hamster wheel for a long enough period.

As time passed, everything just became a drag. Well, it hasn't been better at school - in fact, it has been much worse for me - but it's still a 5-day sacrifice to capitalism gods for the right to exist. Not that I enjoy existing much, but the working hours are when I'm the most miserable.

I'm just tired of going through this shit for no purpose, and I want to stop it badly enough to start planning CTB. Anybody else feels like this?

• Hugs
  • Love
Reactions: Deleted member 10475, Brick In The Wall, GravityUtilizer and 14 others
Busdriver

Busdriver

Mage
Feb 11, 2020