N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
I expect they will make a follow-up story concerning this forum. I expect they publish it roundabout one year after the first reporting (December 2021). I think some people demanded that from the NYT because they thought the story backfired and caused more attention to this forum. So I expect it in December. I could imagine it has the purpose to show (pretend?) they really care about this issue and not just making easy money by a dramatic story.

I think not so much has changed but I am not sure. Is there more traffic since? There were times after the publication with insane amount of guests. In this sense the story backfired for sure.

Other goals of the publication was more awareness about the danger of SN. I don't know exactly the situation in the US but I think in general in many countries the access to it got way more difficult.

Then there is goal to change section 230. I am also no expert in this. But I think Republicans and Democracts have diametrical views on how to change the law. But I think there is more pressure on the politicians to change the laws.

Another goal was to attack the founders of this forum. Both have resigned. But I think it is not exactly known what happened to them.

I think despite the fact that many of these points go into the direction which was intended by the NYT I think the story rather backfired when we consider their perspective. I am pretty sure this forum got huge attention and many many people know now more about the lethality of SN. I think most press condex don't like reporting in this way about suicide. Many reports about this forum were not this explicit, They wantd to avoid what the NYT story had caused.