silentcicada

silentcicada

Silhouettes on the ceiling
Aug 2, 2023
I have never wanted to be anything, even as a kid I never dreamed of having a career. The only experience I have is in veterinary medicine which doesn't pay well.
Do you like what you do? How did you find your career? I can't go to college so I'm really fucked. :(

• Hugs
  • Love
Reactions: heavyeyes, ViniTerrible, sserafim and 4 others
StellaSomnus

StellaSomnus

Dormies sicut stellae luceant
Aug 18, 2023
I want to be a mechanical engineer. I studied automotive engineering, have a bachelor's degree on that and still can't land a job as an engineer because the world is overeducated and the jobhunting scene is a huge mess. And I am not alone in this, too much people are overqualified and yet work wagie jobs just to make ends meet.

With that being said, I don't think it matters too much if you have a dream job or studied in a field and have a dream job. The job market in general is broken and I'm having mental health issues from my current physically demanding job and not having any hope of career development years after I graduated.

Sometimes, ignorance is a bliss.

• Hugs
  • Aww..
Reactions: heavyeyes, sserafim, natthebrat and 5 others
silentcicada

silentcicada

Silhouettes on the ceiling
Aug 2, 2023
I want to be a mechanical engineer. I studied automotive engineering, have a bachelor's degree on that and still can't land a job as an engineer because the world is overeducated and the jobhunting scene is a huge mess. And I am not alone in this, too much people are overqualified and yet work wagie jobs just to make ends meet.

With that being said, I don't think it matters too much if you have a dream job or studied in a field and have a dream job. The job market in general is broken and I'm having mental health issues from my current physically demanding job and not having any hope of career development years after I graduated.

Sometimes, ignorance is a bliss.