Lily (Osako)

Lily (Osako)

Everything all at once
Jul 30, 2022
Had a weird "dissociative?" episode last month. I don't remember doing it but I apparently ordered a bunch of random stuff; books, clothes, et. I remember snapping out of it and I do have some flashes of memory of it, but it was over a few days and my memory makes it seem like it was all at the same time. It feels more like a dream rather than a memory of something that actually happened.

I'm terrified there's something wrong with me. I've never done that before.
I'm hoping it was just a one-off.

Has anyone else ever had anything like that happen? (Not the ordering part, but snapping out of what I can only describe as a daze.)

I have been under incredible stress and have been dealing with several major life changes all at once. Could this be why it happened?

http-410

http-410

nowhere
Sep 12, 2020
This sounds like a form of dissociation to me, and I don't think it's unlikely that it was triggered or exacerbated by the stress, but only a professional can probably give you certainty.

For me, in the context of dissociation, space and time seem distorted (also in retrospect), I have trouble remembering, or I do things I normally wouldn't do (like go to places I normally wouldn't go). Sometimes I also feel like I'm waking up from a dream, where I have to reorient myself for a moment and ask myself where I am and what I'm doing and if I'm even dressed. This "waking up" is always associated with a brief feeling of panic and subsequent confusion.

Nevertheless, I never really managed to break out of my DP/DR. I am permanently dissociated, with severe episodes in between.

Out of interest, was there a particular trigger that made you "snap out" of it or did it happen by coincidence?

• Hugs
Reactions: Ineedtodie and Lily (Osako)
Lily (Osako)

Lily (Osako)

Everything all at once
Jul 30, 2022