N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
It is similar to my take about the Arturo Vidal suicide controversy. I am disabled but I cannot relate to the hysteria about it.
I have some experiences with talking to anti-ableism activists. The descriptions of @KuriGohan&Kamehameha resonated well with me. And she described the flaws of such groups pretty well.

I considered to join another self-help group for students with a disability. I read their rules and got a pretty bad feeling about it. It gave me the impression that one is not allowed to say anything bad about one's own condition and that elaborating on bad sides of such illnesses is seen as being too pessimistic. "Look at the bright side of life." Such a behavior is a red flag for me. I stay away of such people this is probably the reason why I don't very much experience with them. I read their posts on social media, read about their campaigns in the media and their engagement against the righ to die. I think many disability activists have this stance. I debated some of them online. And to honest their arrogance of wanting to determine my own life without knowing shit about it makes me furious as hell. It is so much better for my well-being to stay away of them. I could now reiterate all my hatred for such stances but this is not the core of this thread because literally 99% of the members here would agree on that.