N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
The answer is probably individual. There is the vulnerability-stress model as far as I know. So everyone has a limit. Twice in my life I studied so much that I collapsed.
However my bipolar disorder was the reason for that. Before my first collapse I thought it is great how resilient I was. Quite the opposite is true.

I think it is way easier to prevent a psychosis than to prevent a mania for me. Because usually the mania triggers the psychosis.

When I was young I wanted to become a politician. I still envy the resilience of these people.

I was in a mixed-manic episode prior to my first psychosis. I estimate I probably studied like 12 hours or more daily for 4 months till my first psychosis happened. WIthout any break. Some people laughed at me for being so stupid or I blamed myself for it. However to that time I did not know I am bipolar and that was the reason why I studied so hard/strong agitation. Moreover I barely slept which was pretty counterproductive. It is cynical with 7-15 my mom hit me for studying too less. And with 15 she hit me for doing too much. Sick world.

Prior to the second psychosis I studied less. However I stopped taking medication which backfired completely and fueled my mania. I studied maybe 10-11 hours for 5 months again with no break. Then I got the second psychosis. The studying is deeply pathological and it is very much entrenched in me because of the abuse.

I tried to live the life of a 9 to 5 worker. Made me extremely crippling and severely depressed. Was fired because of that.

Now my last shot I try it with college again. I notice I increase my work load more and more with every semester. I survived the first semesters without becoming manic again. I take huge amounts of medication but they don't work perfectly.